About WELA

WELA’s mission is to enforce and advance employee rights, in recognition that employment with dignity and fairness is fundamental to the quality of life. We do this by promoting and increasing public awareness of the rights of individual employees; enhancing the quality of legal representation of employees; advocating for employee rights before courts and legislative bodies; and assisting and supporting members in their practice of plaintiffs’ employment law. WELA began in spirit in the late 1980’s as an informal network of plaintiff employment lawyers. In 1994, WELA began to develop formal programs including its Amicus Curiae Committee and education programs. In 1996, WELA was incorporated as a Washington non-profit corporation, and has been growing ever since. WELA’s Board of Directors consists of the four elected officers (Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary and Treasurer), the Immediate Past Chair and five appointed members. The appointed members serve as chairs of the Amicus, CLE, Programs, Membership Committees, Legislative, and Communications Committees as follows:

WELA Board of Directors

Beth Terrell

Board Chair

(206) 816-6603 bterrell@terrellmarshall.com

Terry Venneberg

Board Vice-Chair; Website and Social Media

(253) 858-6601 terry@washemploymentlaw.com

Larry Kuznetz

Secretary

(509) 455-4151 larry@pkp-law.com

Sean Phelan

Treasurer

(206) 682-6711 sphelan@frankfreed.com

Kathleen Phair Barnard

Immediate Past Chair; CLE Co-Chair

(206) 285-2828 barnard@workerlaw.com

Jeffrey Needle

Amicus Chair; Legislative Co-Chair

(206) 447-1560 jneedlel@wolfenet.com

Jesse Wing

Legislative Co-Chair

(206) 622-1604 jessew@mhb.com

Teri Healy

Website and Social Media

(206) 220-6916 teri.healy@eeoc.gov

Daniel F. Johnson

Communications Chair

(206) 652-8660 djohnson@bjtlegal.com

Hardeep S. Rekhi

Events Chair

(206) 388-5887 hardeep@rekhiwolk.com

Lindsay Halm

CLE Co-Chair

(206) 622-8000 halm@sgb-law.com

Amicus Committee

Jeffrey Needle

Amicus Committee Chair

(206) 447-1560 jneedlel@wolfenet.com

Daniel Johnson

Amicus Committee Member

(206) 652-8660 djohnson@bjtlegal.com

Blythe Chandler

Amicus Committee Member

(206) 816-6603 bchandler@terrellmarshall.com

Michael Subit

Amicus Committee Member

(206) 682-6711 msubit@frankfreed.com

Toby Marshall

Amicus Committee Member

(206) 816-6603 tmarshall@terrellmarshall.com

Christie J. Fix

Amicus Committee Member

(206) 567-9511 cfix@frankfreed.com

Jesse Wing

Amicus Committee Member

(206) 622-1604 jessew@mhb.com

Lindsay Halm

Amicus Committee Member

(206) 622-8000 halm@sgb-law.com

Joseph R. Shaeffer

Amicus Committee Member

(206) 622-1604 josephs@mhb.com

CLE Committee

Kathleen Phair Barnard

CLE Committee Co-Chair

(206) 285-2828 barnard@workerlaw.com

Lindsay Halm

CLE Committee Co-Chair

(206) 622-8000 halm@sgb-law.com

Denise Diskin

CLE Committee Co-Chair

(206) 324-8969 denise@stellerlaw.com

Program and Social Events Committee

Beth Terrell

Program and Social Events Committee Co-Chair

(206) 816-6603 bterrell@terrellmarshall.com

Hardeep S. Rekhi

Program and Social Events Committee Co-Chair

(206) 388-5887 hardeep@rekhiwolk.com

Membership Committee

Beth Terrell

Membership Committee Chair

(206) 816-6603 bterrell@terrellmarshall.com

Outreach, Advocacy, and Community Relations Committee

Beth Terrell

Outreach Committee Co-Chair

(206) 816-6603 bterrell@terrellmarshall.com

Hardeep S. Rekhi

Outreach Committee Co-Chair

(206) 388-5887 hardeep@rekhiwolk.com

Legislative Committee

Jesse Wing

Legislative Committee Co-Chair

(206) 622-1604 jessew@mhb.com

Kathleen Phair Barnard

Legislative Committee Member

(206) 285-2828 barnard@workerlaw.com

Alex J. Higgins

Legislative Committee Member

(206) 340-4856 alex@alexjhiggins.com

Toby Marshall

Legislative Committee Member

(206) 816-6603 tmarshall@terrellmarshall.com

Jeffrey Needle

Legislative Committee Co-Chair

(206) 447-1560 jneedlel@wolfenet.com

Katherine C. Chamberlain

Legislative Committee Member

(206) 622-1604 katherinec@mhb.com

Maria Hoisington

Legislative Committee Member

(206) 816-6603 mhoisington@terrellmarshall.com

Hardeep S. Rekhi

Legislative Committee Member

(206) 388-5887 hardeep@rekhiwolk.com

Andrea Schmitt

Legislative Committee Co-Chair

andrea.schmitt@columbialegal.org

Brendan Donckers

Legislative Committee Member

(206) 652-8660 bdonckers@bjtlegal.com

Daniel Kalish

Legislative Committee Member

(206) 838-2504 dkalish@hkm.com

Communications Committee

Daniel F. Johnson

Communications Committee Chair

(206) 652-8660 djohnson@bjtlegal.com

WELA Alert Committee

Jeffrey Needle

WELA Alert Editor

(206) 447-1560 jneedlel@wolfenet.com

Micheal Subit

WELA Alert Editor

(206) 682-6711 msubit@frankfreed.com

Public Relations Committee

Vicky Vreeland

PR Committee Chair

(425) 623-1300 Vicky@vreeland-law.com

Daniel Johnson

PR Committee Member

(206) 652-8660 djohnson@bjtlegal.com

Website and Social Media Committee

Terry Venneberg

Website and Social Media Co-Chair

(253) 858-6601 terry@washemploymentlaw.com

Teri Healy

Website and Social Media Co-Chair

(206) 220-6916 teri.healy@eeoc.gov

Daniel Johnson

Website and Social Media Member

(206) 652-8660 djohnson@bjtlegal.com